LWV of Dearborn and Dearborn Heights, 120 North Military, Dearborn, Michigan 48124 ........(313) 278-6476
member login |  calendar |  newsletter |  donations  |  elected officials  |  who's who  |  join lwvddh  |  send us email

* Click above for your 2014 Who's Who *

Click Below for:

Check Back Here for Your
Personal Ballot Information

Quick Instructions:

* Enter your address... & click Enter...
* Click on “Get personalized information on candidates and issues...”
* Just above the map on the right, Click on “Find my information”...
* Choose a language (English or Spanish) & click "Go to my races"

The Governor's race is presented...
* Click "All My Races" to jump to any race...
* Or Click to the right of "Next Race" to step through
all the races one at a time...

For races with more than two candidates:
* Click on 2 candidates at a time to compare their responses...

Selections can be printed or emailed...

Any Questions, Please Contact: or call 313-278-6476

* Consensus Study Questions *

Public Education in Michigan

Click Links below to View

Education Study Corner
Students and Schools At Risk” Forum
Was held Tuesday March 25 2014 at 7:00 p.m.

Location: Dearborn Public Schools, Boardroom
Administrative Service Center, 18700 Audette, Dearborn 48124

View the Forum at Home or Set Your DVR:
Go to Comcast Channel 19 on the following days and times you will be able to see the program. Or visit at the same day and time and the program will be playing.
* Monday, Thursday & Friday at 10:00am
* Tuesday & Wednesday at 8:00pm
* Saturday & Sunday at 2:00pm

Zaineb Hussein, Mike Flanagan, Betsy Cushman

Zaineb Hussein, Moderator, LWV-DDH
Mike Flanagan, Superintendent, Michigan Dept. of Education
Betsy Cushman, President, LWV-DDH
  • What are the definitions of "at risk" students, schools, & systems?
  • How are they being addressed in Dearborn & Dearborn Heights?

  • Many Thanks to the Participating Superintendents:

    Michael P. Flanagan, Michigan Department of Education

    Christopher Wigent, Wayne County RESA

    Dr. Laurine Vanvalkenburg, Crestwood Public Schools

    Jeffrey Bartold, Dearborn Heights District 7

    Sue Carnell, Westwood Community Schools

    Brian J. Whiston, Dearborn Public Schools

League Members Make a Difference

    Men and women with different skills,
    viewpoints and backgrounds are welcome.

    Join active and informed citizens in your
    community, making democracy work.

    Join us today...

Welcome 2013-2014 New Members

Don Rathwell

Elayne Boismier

Helena Thornton

Carla O'Neill

Marion Bloye

Sue Hachem

Leona Nowakowski

Jill Brandana

Anne Gautreau

Zaineb Hussein

Linda Rex

Sherry Miller

Kim Foo

Nada Berry

Marlyne Kilbey

Adeeje Chamas

Lara Rusch

Resources in Your Community

Resources in Your County

Resources in Your State

New United States Legislative Information Site

Many Thanks To Our
2013-2014 Supporting Donors

Kiwanis Club of Dearborn, Inc.

Dearborn Federal Savings Bank

Dearborn Rotary Foundation

Rotary Club of Dearborn Heights

Carmen Kossayda Gudan - Member

Marilyn Wilson - Member

Phyllis Brim - Friend

Leona G. Nowakowski - Member

Carolyn Blackmore - Friend

Anne Gautreau - Member

Mary Labb Brown - Friend
(In honor of my old memories of being a member)

Mary Bugeia - Member

Betsy Cushman - Member

Winnie Goeboro - Lifetime Member

Bettysue Pisula - Friend

Village Ford, Jim Seavitt - Friend

Dr. Alan L. Watson, DDS - Friend
(In memory of Joseph Bugeia)

Rose Wiggle - Friend

Dr. Stan Jensen, President, Henry Ford Community College - Friend

E. W. Kaiser - Friend

Bill & Janet Leslie - Friends

Kay Prout - Friend
(In memory of husband Peter and son James)

CTE Thomas P. Tafelski - Friend

Ruth Warner - Friend

Loretta Anderson - Member

Steven Adelson - Friend

Janice Berry - Member

Bob & Marge Bryer - Friends

Susan Dabaja - Friend

Judith & Tom Henn - Friends

Louise LeVeque - Friend

Donald L. Rathwell - Member

CTE John J. Riley II - Friend

Michael T. Sareini - Friend

Brian & Elizabeth Whiston - Friends
(In Honor of Mary Bugeia)

Pam Adams - Member

Anne Gautreau - Member
(In memory of Daniel Bittner)

Patsy Knoop - Friend

Judy & Mickey Patrick - Members
(In memory of Joe Bugeia)

Karen Marzonie - Friend

Ned Apigian - Friend

Anonymous - Friend

Spectrum Signs & Designs - Friend

Support your Local League of Women Voters

LWV MI Links

LWVDDH covers Dearborn and Dearborn Heights.
Search for other Michigan area leagues.

Save These
Important Upcoming Dates

August 26
7 p.m.
Women's Equality Day Event
at Dearborn Centennial Library

LWVDDH in partnership with AAUW-Dearborn
will mark National Women's Equality Day
by hosting a FREE showing of
the acclaimed 2004 drama
"Iron Jawed Angels".

This movie, based on the American women's
suffrage movement during the 1910s,
follows political suffragist leaders
Alice Paul and Lucy Burns
as they revolutionize the American feminist
movement to grant women the right to vote.

Tuesday, August 26,
the Dearborn Centennial Library - 7:00 PM

View the Candidate Forum
for the position of
Wayne County Executive
Co-sponsored by
The Democracy Institute at Henry Ford College
The Leagues of Women Voters
in Wayne County
held on
Thursday, June 12, 2014
7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.

in Forfa Auditorium, Mazzara Building, Henry Ford College
5101 Evergreen Rd., Dearborn, MI 48128

Parking adjacent to the Mazzara Building or student lots

14 Candidates for Wayne County Executive Invited (most came)

Who Will You Vote For?

Click to view the Forum

Key dates for
the August 5, 2014 Primary Election:

April 22 Candidate filing deadline
April 25 Candidate withdrawal deadline
May 13 Deadline for certification of wording of local Proposals for the Primary
June 21 Absentee Ballots should be available to voters for the Primary
July 7 Last day to register for August 5, 2014 Election
August 5 Primary Election

Go to Facebook Page

The 2013-2014 LWVDDH Board of Directors
Betsy Cushman
Mary Jo Durivage
Barb Adams
Mary Bugeia
Judy Carty
Carolyn Buell
Chris Sullivan-Rathwell
Kathy Gapa
Don Mack

Anti Domestic Violence and Abuse Information

Call the number above for assistance or click above to Link to the Hotline Site

Call the number above for assistance or click above to Link to the
First Step Site

newsletter |  donations  |  elected officials  |  who's who  |  join lwvddh  |  send us email
Mission Statement
The League of Women Voters , a non-partisan political organization, encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy.

Please send website comments to